If I tell you you have a beautiful body . . .

by gaytaylor

[ part 2 of 3 ]

iwantyou

I’VE LOOKED SO MUCH . . .

I’ve looked on beauty so much

that my vision overflows with it.

The body’s lines. Red lips. Sensual limbs.

Hair as though stolen from Greek statues,

always loverly, even uncombed,

and falling slightly over pale foreheads.

Figures of love, as my poetry desired them

. . . in the nights when I was young,

encountered secretly in my nights.

C.P. Cavafy

translated by Edmund Keely & Philip Sherrard

Edited by George Savidis

Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 1975

for reflection:

What does your vision overflow with?

for action (or, if you’re Catholic, penance):

Close your eyes, take a deep breath, and inhale Desire. Pay attention to the feelings that accompany this in-filling.

About the photo: Original photo by Jason Pier at flickr.com, NYC Pride parade shortly after the state legalized gay marriage. Text added by gaytaylor.wordpress.com

graphy, flickr.com

