Take the step

by gaytaylor

Hi guys – I’m a current Taylor student, straight but really wanting to begin discussions like this with people who are genuinely open. Involvement with Choros (a group created to discus human sexuality) seems to be my next step. Love from Taylor, on my behalf, to both of you. If you have any suggestions on loving my gay friends better, or how to start these conversations, or just want to stay in touch, please do.

Veronica

toni blay flickr-com

Thank you, Veronica, for a gentle and encouraging response. You’re reaching out, I see, in wondering aloud what and how you (currently a TU student) can better love your lgbt friends (some of whom are also there on campus?). You can identify a starting point in joining the wider discussion of sexuality through the on-campus group Choros. Do take the first step, I encourage you. Often in life we’re given only a candle or a pocket flashlight, no miner’s headlamp to see far ahead down the path. We have to make do taking one step at a time, moving forward, finding purchase for our foot, first one, then the other. There will be more steps, of course, but we have to take the one in front of us first.

What’s your motivation, may I ask, in wanting to offer support to lgbt persons? The church I attended near campus was spooked of gay persons. “We don’t want no homos here,” I remember one person saying. To this, a church leader replied, “No, that’s not right. Let ’em come on in. We’ll sit ’em right down front and preach God’s truth to ’em, make ’em see the error of their ways, get ’em to repent and lead ’em to Jesus.” I’m sure I nodded and smiled my agreement. That’s what and how I once believed.

“The most difficult thing in the world is to know how to help someone,” said George MacDonald, or words to that effect. What we sincerely conceive of as helping may be the last thing a given person needs.

To love your gay friends better, look to your motives. Take a first step. Build your awareness. Educate yourself. Read a book or two or visit a website designed for straight allies. Ask questions. Have many more questions than answers. Be kind. Be true. Think critically. Love from your heart. Stretch your comfort zone. Speak up. And know you are doing valuable service in showing your support for people often marginalized in evangelical circles.

picture  by Toni Blay flickr.com

 

