Holy Eukonkanto!

by gaytaylor

This week National Public Radio is airing a series on the afterlife. Well, on various persons’ own conceptions of those they articulate as standard bearers for their particular religion. For me it’s rather like listening on on a conversation in Sonkajärvi, Finland as to whether the Estonian carry (while a crowd pleaser) is better strategy than holding onto a woman via the fireman’s carry or piggyback-style. I mean, it’s interesting that people can get so worked up about something like eukonkanto  and have definite opinions on the subject, but the point of it escapes me.

Image

I feel something similar when I wade through the arguments put forward about why God does or does not love and sanction LGBT people, and if so, which specific actions on their part are sanctioned. The matter is obviously important to some people, and I bless them in chasing what truly gives them life and energy. I hope this is it.

Yet I find myself nodding in agreement to Daniel Ladinsky’s quoting Eruch Jessawala in the current issue of The Sun: “There is just one luminous existence; there is just one sacred well from which all thoughts and acts happen, and any interaction between human beings, especially that of romance and affection and giving comfort, is holy. All action between human beings is holy.”

In this passage Daniel Ladinsky reports his teacher’s take on his own teacher Meher Baba‘s opinion regarding homosexuality.

Any interaction between human beings . . . is holy. To which I say, “amen.”

.

Photo credit: Steve Jurvetson

